Home Page


The Role of the School Governor


In England, Wales and Northern Ireland, every state school has a Governing Body, consisting of specified numbers of various categories of governors depending on the type and size of school.


The role of the School Governor is very rewarding and is a good way to give back to our local community. School Governing Bodies are responsible for working with the school to ensure that it delivers a good quality education.


School Governors have three main roles:


  • To provide strategic direction for the school
  • To act as critical friend to the Headteacher
  • To ensure accountability


They also carry out a number of other important duties, which include:


  • Setting a shared vision and ethos for the school
  • Ensuring policies and procedures are in place that ensure legislative and other compliance
  • Forming policy on collective worship
  • Agreeing and monitoring the school budget in line with the School Development Plan
  • The appointment, pay review and wellbeing of staff
  • If required, hearing appeals and grievances
  • Setting standards for pupils’ behavior and discipline
  • Making sure the school buildings are welcoming and safe
  • Liaising with the Head Teacher and staff to support, be informed and monitor the delivery of school improvement


School Governors at Sutton Courtenay CofE Primary School


Sutton Courtenay CofE Primary School is a Local Authority Voluntary Controlled (VC) School, whereby three of our Governors are Foundation Governors, who are appointed by the Oxford Diocese and three of our Governors are elected Parent Governors.


Our Full Governing Body (FGB) meets six times each academic year during term time. We are volunteers who all share a commitment to improving learning at Sutton Courtenay CofE Primary School. We represent the school's main stakeholder groups – Parents, Staff, Local Authority and the Community.


Our detailed business is delegated to two committees who both meet an additional three times a year.


Resources Committee (including Premises & Health and Safety)

Performance & Standards Committee


We currently have 13 Governors:


Paul Allen – Co-opted

Dr Rita Atkinson MBE – Foundation

Kirsty Butler – Co-opted

Chara Dent – Parent

Christine Hamilton – Parent

Rachel Hornsey – Headteacher

The Reverend Helen Kendrick – Foundation

Dan Knowles – Local Authority

Lara Patrick – Co-opted

Dr Heather Sanders – Co-opted

Louise Tristram – Staff (Teaching/Support Staff)

Emma Zacher – Parent

Emma Jhita - Parent


Katie Paxton-Doggett – Clerk to the Governing Body